VIDEO: 2017 Caxton Awards boggles the mind and celebrates excellence

Nothing says excellence like the incredible talent showcased at this year’s Caxton Awards.

Caxtonites from across the country came together for a night of well-mannered frivolity, mind-blowing entertainment, delicious food and, of course, to celebrate the best of the best when it comes to community news.

The Empire venue in Parktown played host to the awards with the evening’s MC Gilan Gork boggling the mind on 15 March.

Gork, a mastermind of illusion and a mentalist, definitely challenged the hardcore journalists in the audience with his near impossible mind games.

Guests were delighted to be entertained by none other than the vocally gifted Zolani Mahola, previously from Freshlyground as well as Shared Address.

The Caxton Awards is all about rewarding those who have made a difference in their community whether it be through advertising, design, online presence or telling community stories. Judges for this year’s awards said the competition was fierce with true talent and the essence of excellence championing overall.

Production manager Ilda Dolton was nominated for best written and designed small advert in Randburg Sun. Sports editor, Nicholas Zaal, got his great sports picture mentioned in the top 12 finalists for best sports photograph.

Michelle Brink shows off the two Caxton awards.

Designer Anja Schmidt celebrates with her Best of Joburg publication award.

Caxton Greater Joburg North is incredibly proud of their branch for ranking high in the awards, with Fourways Review and Northcliff Melville Times making it to the finals for Best Free Newspaper.

Get It Joburg North scooped the glamorous award of best Get It magazine. The same team made it happen again by grabbing the best glossy feature award for their Best of Joburg publication too.

North Eastern Tribune‘s very own Andrei van Wyk won the best contribution to The Citizen award.

Editor of Northcliff Meville Times and Randburg Sun Aimee McGill with sales manager Estelle von Berg.

Sheryl Johnston with Karen Watts celebrate the excellence at Caxton Awards 2017.

Greater Caxton Joburg branch members Jastinah Ndlovu, Mbuso Sokhulu, Sydney Lishivha and Dineo Motlalehi.

Rache and Buks Esterhuizen with the lovely Lizanna and Jaco Koekemoer eagerly await the awards.


Talk to us by emailing our group editor, Daniella Potter, at

Latest from Rosebank Killarney Gazette