Joburg’s cricket teams run out with awards

Faheem Mirza of Medal Paints Marks Park receives the Bowler of the Year in the Premiere League A award, from Faizel Sallie of the Gauteng Cricket Board.

The Gunn and Moore Old Edwardians Cricket Club and Medal Paints Marks Park reaped the most awards at the event, held at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium on 18 May, while Jeppe Cricket Club shone in the women’s section.

Local cricket clubs, Randburg, Pirates, Joburg, University of Johannesburg (UJ), Croxley Wits, Wanderers, and St Stithians Boys’ College were also rewarded for their hard work.

Gauteng Cricket Board vice-president Mohammed Majam gives an award to Muhammed Mayet, formerly of Medal Paints Marks Park, for making the SA U19 team.

“This season the Strikers and the Lions have not done so well so we will put a committee together to look at why, and to find a way to get back to the top of the log,” said an honest board CEO, Greg Fredericks in his opening remarks.

READ De Kock steals the show with six awards at the Cricket South Africa Awards

Board president, Jack Madiseng, followed on by thanking everyone from the umpires to the players and staff. “You are all rock stars,” he applauded.

Robyn Searle receives and award for Jeppe Cricket Club from Mike Sacher, treasurer of the Gauteng Cricket Board.

When it was time for the awards, the mood lifted, as opposing teams honoured each other for their excellence.

Old Eds won the Club of the Year and the Premier League B section, with Brandon Buckley the Bowler of the Year in that section. The club also won the Fair Play Award. “We are so happy to enjoy the night with other clubs instead of sledging each other,” joked club chairperson, Mark Patterson.

Ryan Jacobs receives an award for the Randburg Cricket Club winning the Sunday Two league.

Marks Park won the Saturday Six League and the Saturday One league. Faheem Mirza took the Bowler of the Year in Premier League A. Former player Muhammed Mayet received an award for being selected to the South Africa U19 team.

Jeppe won the Women’s Club of the Year award. Robyn Searle was also honoured for playing for the SA A team. “The secret to Jeppe’s success was that we had a good time together, on and off the field,” she said. The men’s section won the Multiply T20 Community Cup, and Matthew Smith was Premier League A’s Player of the Year.

Gauteng Cricket Board CEO Greg Fredericks says a committee will look at the performance of the Gauteng Strikers and bizhub Highveld Lions.

UJ won the Premier League A section, while Wits won the GCB T20 competition.

Joburg Cricket Club won the Sunday One league and Sunday Seven league, Randburg won the Sunday Two league and Pirates won the Saturday Seven league.

Malebo Semenya and Gauteng Cricket Board director, Koketso Muller attend the event.

Martin Coetzee of Wanderers was Batsman of the Year in the Premier League A.

READ Mayet on the front foot

St Stithians College was awarded Schools Team of the Year, and team member Wiaan Mulder was awarded for being made captain of the SA U19 side.

The future of SA cricket, Muhammed Mayet, Glen Adams and Jacob Miltz.


Add us on Whatsapp for the latest news by adding 079 4395 345 to your contact list and just send your name to us so we can save your number. Click here to find out more about our Whatsapp policy.

Nicholas Zaal

Latest News


Recommended Story x
City council chamber scoops another two awards