South Africa’s own walk of fame

The Walk of Same will be established in Rosebank in honour of former President Nelson Mandela.

The walk has been approved by the Lower Rosebank Management District and is set to become a permanent iconic honour dedicated to the legacy and living memory of former president Nelson Mandela, distinguished South Africans and fellow Africans identified as people of prominence.

The Walk of Stars will be home to a number of five-pointed stars laid into the sidewalk inscribed with the names of famous personalities who have greatly distinguished themselves and achieved national and international recognition and have contributed to the worldwide prominence of South Africa.

According to Walk of Stars executive producer, Phineas Tichana, “The Walk is set to be a huge resource for Rosebank, and a mega marketing tool for Johannesburg to promote tangible heritage as an open air museum, and enhance the business, cultural, and civic well-being of South African and African achievement.”

To create excitement, a mock unveiling will be held in July to coincide with Mandela Day. A formal inaugural induction will then be held in September to induct the first South African and African stars.

The stars will be in green coral terrazzo and brass. The walk is similar to the world-acclaimed one in California.

Categories are for those who have excelled in radio, music, sport, film, television, performing arts, as well as the meritorious star which will be awarded to persons who have rendered unparalleled service to their fellow citizens.

There will be a special category of stars to recognise various contributions by corporate entities, humanitarian organisations and special honourees, and will display emblems unique to the selfless sons and daughters of the soil.

The class of 2016 will be appointed through a nomination process by the general public and carried out each year by a selections committee.

South African Class of Inaugural Inductees:

Recording: Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Theatre/Live: Performance Joe Mafela

Sport: Lucas Radebe

Recording: Hugh Masekela

Meritorious: Imtiaz Sooliman

Television: Rolene Strauss

Sport: Francois Pienaar

Recording: Oscar Mdlongwa aka Oskido

Sport: AB De Villiers

Television: Connie Ferguson

Meritorious: Andrew Mlangeni, Ahmed Kathrada, and George Bizos

Theatre/Live: Performance Sello Maake KaNcube

Recording: Jonathan Butler

Sport: Gary Player

Recording: Chicco Twala

Film: Leon Schuster

Sport: Dr Ali Bacher

Meritorious: Patrice Motsepe

Recording: Lerato Molapo aka Lira

Film: Terry Pheto

Television: Siyabonga Twala

Sport: Caster Semenya

Television: Bonang Matheba

Recording: Johnny Clegg

Meritorious: Desmond Tutu

African Class of Inaugural Inductees

Recording: Oliver Mtukudzi

Film: Lupita Nyong’o

Recording: Sade Aku

Television: Alek Wek

Film: Genevieve Nnaji

Recording: Salief Keita

Sport: Drogba Didier

Frontline Member-states Champions: Kenneth Kaunda, Robert Mugabe, Joachim Chissano, Quett Masire, San Nujoma, Samora Machel, Julius Nyerere and Kamuzu Banda.

Who do you believe should be given one of these stars?

Tell us by posting on our timeline, Rosebank Killarney Gazette or tweet us @RK_Gazette

Add us on BBM for the latest news in your community. PIN: 29C7976C

find your
dream home

looking for an

List your Property

It's easy in only three
simple steps...

find professional
services in
your area

Locate a business
operating in
your area

List your Business

Want more customers? They're online right now, searching for businesses like yours. Place your ad now...

Latest News


Fourways Review Midrand Reporter Alex News North Eastern Tribune Sandton Chronicle City Buzz Joburg East Express Get It Joburg North Leisure Options
Recommended Story x
SA gymnast prepares for world games

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our free NEWSLETTER
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Alex News
City Buzz
Fourways Review
Joburg East Express
Midrand Reporter
North Eastern Tribune
Northcliff Melville Times
Randburg Sun
Roodepoort Northsider
Rosebank Killarney Gazette
Sandton Chronicle

Your details:

Your friends:

I didn't sign up for this
I'd like to see and read more... (Please indicate in comments section below)
I'm relocating (Please indicate where to)